Other Scholarships, Grants & Awards

The scholarships below are from sources outside the Architecture Department at Cal Poly.  Some are offered by external entities who maintain their own scholarship application process and selection criteria. Information and links are provided as a courtesy. 

Check the following web sites for additional scholarship opportunities:

Other Scholarships, Grants & Awards

2×8: Domum  - AIA Los Angeles

2×8 Student Competition, Exhibition and Scholarship program showcases exemplary student work from architecture & design institutions throughout California. Celebrating the state’s unequaled diversity in pedagogical directions, each of the participating academic programs select two student projects that epitomize their core vision. As many as 16 schools participate in the annual show.

Participating students exhibit their work at a public venue and have the opportunity to potentially receive scholarships to further their education as tomorrow’s architects.

Participating architecture schools from southern California may nominate up to two students to enter their design work into the competition.  A jury of professional select the award winners.  Scholarship amounts vary from year to year.

To review previous competition entries, click here.

Center for Architecture Scholarships - AIA NY

New York City’s Center for Architecture is pleased to announce its annual scholarship and grant opportunities for students.  Visit the Center for Architecture at: www.centerforarchitecture.org/scholarships-grants.

Decks Direct Scholarship

DecksDirect celebrates students who strive only for excellence. Decks Direct will be providing its first one-time scholarship prize of $1000 for tuition, books, computers, accommodations and any other educational expenses.

This scholarship will be open to both undergraduate and graduate students attending an accredited university within the United States as well as high school seniors who have been accepted into a university program for the spring of 2021.

There is no GPA requirement and no application forms. The deadline is May 5, 2021.

More info here:  https://www.decksdirect.com/decksdirect-scholarship-2020.

Robert L. Pender Memorial Scholarship 

The Robert L. Pender Memorial Scholarship was established in 2015 by the owners, management, and friends of the Parkmerced community in San Francisco, CA. Each year, two $1,000 scholarships are awarded to provide tuition and academic expense assistance to students pursuing degrees or certificates in building design, construction, urban planning, or related field(s). Application Deadlines are July 1st and December 1st. Scholarships are typically awarded within 45 days of the application deadline. Read more here.

Robert L. Wesley Award 

Deadline: November 9
Created in 2020, the Robert L. Wesley Award supports BIPOC undergraduate students enrolled in architecture, landscape architecture, urban design, or structural engineering programs across the US. The award aims to support the academic development of the student. In 2020, the Robert L. Wesley Award will provide three $10,000 unrestricted awards. The award honors Robert L. Wesley, the first Black partner at SOM. Read more here.

Professional Organization Awards

AIA Henry Adams Medal

The American Institute of Architects recognizes two top-ranking graduating students in accredited programs with an engraved medal and certificate of merit. The award program began in 1914 and was formerly called "The School Medal." Named in honor of the author of the book Mont. St Michel and Chartres, The purpose of the award is to recognize students for their general excellence in architecture throughout their course of studies. The recipient is a graduating senior with the highest Cal Poly grade point average in the Architecture Department.  GPA is based on Winter Quarter of the 5th and final year.

Alpha Rho Chi Bronze Medal

Established in 1931, Alpha Rho Chi, the National Professional Fraternity for Architecture and the allied arts promotes the profession of architecture by encouraging students to excel. The members of Alpha Rho Chi believe the profession of architecture needs strong leaders as much as it needs strong designers. The recipient is committed to public service and shows merit beyond the design studio and academic career. Nominated by architecture faculty, this medal honors a graduating senior for outstanding achievements.


Back To Top

Related Content