2014 Vellum/CAED Furniture Competition & Exhibition

Download the 2014 Vellum Pre-entry Application (pdf)


Vellum Design Build and the Cal Poly Architecture Department welcome you to the 11th Annual Vellum Design Build/Cal Poly Architecture Department Design exhibition. This exhibition showcases Cal Poly College of Architecture and environmental Design student work completed during the fall quarter of 2014 Intended to inspire creative thought and challenge participants to press the boundaries of design, this competition has produced outstanding original pieces and has given tangible experience and exposure to the industry.

About Vellum Design Build

Vellum Design Build was established in 2001 as a full-service design and build firm in San Luis Obispo, CA. VDB acts as a single source of responsibility in delivering built works. From custom residential design and construction to custom furniture and interior design, VDB manages everything from concept to finished product.

Jury Members

We are delighted to draw top names in the furniture design industry for this year's jury:

Lorean O'Herlihy FAIA: Since LOHA's inception in 1990, founder and principal Lorean O'Herlihy, FAIA has designed and built within the bounds of real world politics, optimistic in embracing the role of architecture as a catalyst of change. O'Herlihy was recognized by the Architectural League of New York as one of eight "Emerging Voices" internationally, and elevated to the College of Fellows by the American Institute of Architecture in 2009. LOHA has been published in over 20 countries and recognized with over 100 awards, including the 2010 AIA Los Angeles Firm of the Year.

Heidi Gibson AIA: Heidi Gibson is a principal and co-founder of Studio2Gm who is committed to transforming the field of architecture in the central coast to a more sustainable and energy efficient practice. They make every effort to spread awareness about green design, green building materials, and a green lifestyle. By designing efficiently, they reduce the amount of greenhouse gas emissions globally, the amount of waste associated with architecture, and prolong the use of our remaining natural resources. Gibson is the Director of AIA.CCC.

Dale Clifford is an Assistant Professor at Cal Poly and interested in building technologies based on regional building practices, biomimetics, and advances in materials science. He is a principle of BrooksClifford Design, a founding member of the Bio_Logic Design Group and is a Research Associate at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History.

Garret Farmer is the lead steel fabricator at Sand Studio in San Francisco. Sand Studio is one of the premier design and fabrication studios on the west coast. He works closely alongside an accomplished group of architects, industrial designers, machinists and artisans to create a complete scope of architectural projects and elements. He runs the machine shop, which also serves as a materials lab, laying the groundwork for prototyping signature lighting and other product development.

Colby Reece is interested in product development and industrial design including furniture, jewelry, lighting, and hardware. He is the Lead Fabricator I Shop Foreman at McEwen Lighting Studio, a small design/build shop in the old ship building district of West Berkeley, and an international industry leader in high-end, custom lighting.

2014 Vellum Sponsors

Without our sponsors, this event would not be possible. Thank you to all who generously donated.

Titanium Level Sponsors: $2,000+

  • Cal Poly Architecture Department
  • Dr. Dan Lewis
  • Space Architects: Enrico Como+ Scott Michael Stapleton

Platinum Level Sponsors: $350+

  • studio_2g architects: Heidi Gibson + Laura Gough
  • rrm design group
  • Access Compliance Consultants
  • Davis Family
  • F. Mclintock's Saloon + Dining
  • Pacific Coast Lumber/Don Seawater
  • Frank's Famous Hot Dogs
  • Vellem design build
  • M:OME Modern Sustainable Living
  • Erica Abbott/SLO Realtor
  • Copelands Properties LLC
  • Atascadero Glass Inc.
  • Coastal Reprographic Services

Gold Level Sponsors: $250+

  • Granada Inn
  • Pacific Trust Mortgage
  • Luna Red Restaurant
  • Heilmann's Salvage & Metals Inc.
  • TJ Esser of esserstudios of Ithaca, NY

11th Annual Vellum/CAED Furniture Competition Winners

Space Architects Milano Prize:

These two projects were Best in Show and the winners will be sent to Milano for the Salone di Mobile in Italy (all expense paid).  This is the most important furniture faire in the world.

Poap Panusittikorn (Doug Jackson studio)
Salvador Villanueva (Jonathan Foote studio)

studio_2g Cradle 2 Cradle Award:

For most sustainably crafted piece.
Travis Cook (Tom di Santo studio)

Dr. Daniel Lewis 100% Pure Award:

This is the best piece designed and fabricated 100% by the student in question (no powder coating, no welding, no chrome work...no upholstering...nothing was farmed out to another fabricator).
Brian Hohl (Tom di Santo studio)

ACC Modern Master Award:

For creating the piece that most closely aligns with the ideals of the Modern Furniture Movement in America in the Mad Men era...post war USA.
Poap Panusittikorn (Doug Jackson Studio)


Additional Awards

studio 2g Cradle-2-Cradle Runner-up:

Christopher Hague (Robert Arens studio) for the second most sustainably crafted piece

Runners' Up:

Erin Brayley (Tom di Santo studio)
Emily Saunders (Karen Lange studio)
Anastasia Love (Sandy Stannard studio)
Wai-Mei Leung (Ansgar Killing studio)
Travis Van't Hul (Jonathan Reich studio)

Honourable Mention:

John Park (Jon Foote studio)
Ben Pennell (Doug Jackson studio)
Ryan Craney (Doug Jackson studio)

Solar Decathlon Awards went to:

Brian Hohl (Tom di Santo studio)
Edvin Vargas (Sandy Stannard studio)
Travis Van't Hul (Jonathan Reich studio)
Michael Fletcher (Sandy Stannard studio)
Salvador Villanueva (Jonathan Foote studio)
Roxy Kermani (Umut Toker studio)

Related Content